Charles Parker Prize – Winners 2019

Sian Medford, Gold Award Winner

Sian Medford, Gold Award Winner

The five winners of the Charles Parker Prize 2019 for the Best Student Radio Feature were announced at the Centenary Charles Parker Day at Bournemouth University on 5 April 

BBC Radio 4 joined with the Charles Parker Awards to offer a broadcast slot on the network to each of the five winners.  They were invited to collaborate with a coach drawn from some of the very best feature-makers working in radio in order to adapt their features for transmission on BBC Radio 4 in July and August 2019.

Student Title of piece Date and link
Bruce Guthrie The Flapper 29 July
Henry Stokoe Kidnapped 30 July
Rosa Eaton Beyond the Ballot 31 July
Rhys Gunter My Life After Grenfell 1 August
Sian Medford
(Gold Award)
A Young Sel
in a Small Town
2 August

Ten student features were nominated for the Centenary Prize: the other five finalists were featured in a programme broadcast on Radio 4 Extra on Sunday 28 July 2019.  They are:

Student Title of piece University
Eddie Scott Involuntarily Celibate Goldsmiths
Faith Waddell Make The Cut Goldsmiths
Sam Ross Unwritten Letters Sunderland
Lucy Ryan The Lonely Death of Janet Parker Birmingham City
Jordan Curtis Blyth Where I was Born, Where I was Raised Sunderland

The Judges of this special centenary Charles Parker Prize were:
Jane Anderson – Radio Editor, Radio Times
Mohit Bakaya – Commissioning Editor, Factual, BBC Radio 4
Simon Elmes – Former Creative Director, BBC Radio Features
Sara Parker – Award-winning Radio Producer and Charles’s daughter
Philip Sellars – Editor, BBC Radio Documentaries Unit

Comments are closed.